Latte or Cappuccino?

I have this vision of writers and other intellectuals using coffee shops to gather and develop their creativity. It worked for JK Rowling why shouldn’t it work for me? So far, over the last three weeks, I’ve been popping in to my local coffee shop a couple of times a week. I have my regular cup of coffee, take out my notebook and write. I must say that it’s very enjoyable. To date my jottings have been just that – I’ve not started that best-selling novel yet, but I’m enjoying myself.

I didn’t realise that coffee houses have been around for so long. Apparently the first one in Britain opened in 1650 in Oxford. During the 17th & 18th centuries there were more coffee shops in London than there are today. Did you know that ‘tipping’ started in these coffee houses? If people wanted better service and a good seat they would put money in a jar labelled ‘To Insure Prompt Service’. They were used a lot by artists, intellectuals, merchants, bankers and political activists. They were often called ‘penny universities’ – it was said that, in a coffee house,  a man could ‘pick up more useful knowledge than by applying himself to his books for a whole month’. A penny was the price of a coffee.

I’m not sure how many political activists or intellectuals are frequenting my coffee shop. While I am enjoying the activity I do get a little nervous in there. So far I’ve managed to make the coffee last about three quarters of an hour and then I’ve left. I’m not sure what the etiquette is for coffee shops and would be writers? How long should I stay before I buy another coffee? Should I be taking up the whole sofa? Should I explain to the owner what I’m doing? I find more and more that if I’ve got a question I can often find an answer through google! You would be surprised, or maybe not, just how many blogs and websites there are covering the thorny issue of ‘coffee shop etiquette’. Here are just a few of the suggested rules that I came across:

  • Remember it is a business, it is someone’s livelihood, so buy something at least every hour.
  • Tip well.
  • Try not to be noisy – put your mobile on vibrate & cut out the start up noise on your computer.
  • Take up only one chair (not the whole sofa!) and try & sit at the smallest table.

In other words try to be as inconspicuous as possible in the hope that no one will notice you are there. Not like the 18th century coffee houses which were often crowded, smelly, noisy, fiesty, smoke filled places of creativity.

About Mike

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Latte or Cappuccino?

  1. lilborneo says:

    🙂 I enjoyed this entry.

    -also a coffee house enthusiast and wanna-be writer

  2. I do enjoy writing in coffee shops! Usually when I have writer’s block I will head over to my local coffee shop and somehow I’m able to overcome it. Also, good rules!

    • Mike says:

      Thanks Hannah.
      You are right – it is surprising how you can almost forget the fact that there are other customers in the place & get lost in your writing.

Leave a Reply

