To Tweet Or Not To Tweet?

I know that Twitter is a great way to share ideas and when I do go to my Twitter page I’m never disappointed by the people I follow. BUT ….. I’m still not using it as I should. I’ve just seen the news that Ivy Bean has died at the age of 104 years. Apparently Ivy was the oldest ‘Tweeter’ in the UK with over 56,000 followers – impressive. She was also an avid Facebook user with over 5,000 followers. When Ivy was born in 1906 it would still have been another 7 years before the first national telephone network was established.

Marc Prensky talks about ‘Digital Natives’& ‘Digital Immigrants’   –

Today’s students represent the first generations to grow up with this new technology. They have spent their entire lives surrounded by and using  computers, videogames, digital music players, video cams, cell phones, and all the other toys and tools of the digital age.

But Digital Immigrants typically have very little appreciation for these new skills that the Natives have acquired and perfected through years of interaction and practice. These skills are almost totally foreign to the Immigrants, who themselves learned – and so choose to teach – slowly, step-by-step, one thing at a time, individually, and above all, seriously.

Where does that put Ivy? A  digital immigrant keen to embrace the world of her younger digital natives ……. and me, someone who prides himself on using technology …. in terms of ‘Twitter’ I’m much closer to the digital immigrant divide.

About Mike

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

