Man Flu

I’m not feeling particularly well at the moment. My wife insists that it is no more than a cold, I know, from experience, that it is more serious than that because it’s ‘Man Flu’.

To prove the point I have dragged myself off my sick sofa to do some research. Wikepedia says, “Man flu is a pejorative term that refers to the idea that when many men have a cold they exaggerate and claim that they have flu – the implication being that women do not do so.” Not particularly helpful and I wonder if it might have been written by a woman?

Something more conclusive was found in a Telegraph article from March 2010 which said, “Man flu is not a myth, claim scientists, who found men suffer more because they invest in their spirit of adventure at the expense of their immune system.” That sounds more like it!

I then found that there are web sites out there to help victims of Man flu and give advice to carers. I also found this YouTube video very reassuring. I am going to direct my wife to both – but I might wait until I’m feeling a little better.

About Mike

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

