iPad Or Newspaper?

Most Friday’s I start the day by spending an hour or so in my local coffee shop. A chance to think and write over a couple of latte’s. It was its normal busy self this morning and it struck me that nearly everyone was enjoying their coffee while reading a newspaper. I was the only one making use of the free Wifi as I checked e-mail on my iPod Touch. I thought that, hopefully by the end of September, I will be using my new iPad.

It struck me that I will be able to ditch my notebook and pen and use the iPad instead – but will I want to? I don’t know and probably wont until I give it a try. Old habits are difficult to break. I certainly wouldn’t need to read a newspaper as I could get all the news I want from my iPad. I wonder if my fellow coffee shop users would ditch their newspapers for a more digital means of access to the news? Instead of having a rack of magazines and papers for customers to borrow maybe they could offer a number of iPads for people to use instead. As well as getting the news, customers could do crosswords, read a book, play games or go on to the internet. I had this vision of the place full of people using iPads instead of newspapers. Could it happen? The technology is already available so theoretically it could happen tomorrow. Will it happen? I doubt it – as I said earlier some habits are hard to break. So come the end of September I wonder if people will notice that I’ve ditched the newspaper and my notebook and I’m reading & writing using my iPad instead?

About Mike

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to iPad Or Newspaper?

  1. Jane says:

    I remember when having a mobile phone felt like an inconvenience – now I couldn’t imagine life without it! I have a feeling you probably will be using your ipad (very jealous) for writing…but what type of reading? I still can’t imagine just yet curling up with an ipad and reading a book – I still love the feeling of turning the pages, folding the pages (even though some people would be aghast at that!) and just having a proper book in my hand.

    • Mike says:

      I’m afraid the mobile phone is still an inconvenience to me I must work on that!
      Like you I love the feeling of turning pages & I’m also guilty of being folding the corner of a page when I finish reading. From what I can make out the iPad will let you flick between pages & put in an electronic bookmark or fold on the page. I will let you know.

  2. Farzana says:

    I think you’ll just have to try it and see. I can remember always handwriting my essays first at uni, in my notebooks and then I would type them. Other friends would type straightaway. It just felt more real, writing them by hand first. It felt like I could more freely edit, scribble things out, change the order….but you can do all that on your laptop and your ipad (echoing Jane’s comment very jealous!). Now, I would just type straightaway. It’s quicker and easier. But I do think there’s always a place for books (and bookmarks, rather than folding pages :)), newspapers, magazines. Sometimes it’s just good to write using a notepad and pen, it feels good!
    ps-Love this “Random thoughts” blog part to your site; a good addition.
    pps-keep up with the texting too!

    • Mike says:

      Hi Farzana. Thanks for visiting my new blog. I agree, there is something special about sometimes ‘writing’ – I certainly enjoy my Friday mornings with my journal & pen. At the same time I am part way through a children’s story & sometimes find the ideas flow faster when I am typing.
      When I finish this story I might ask you and Jane to try it out on your new classes – what do you think?

  3. Joanne says:

    I’m with Jane and Mike on the page folding of books. I, like Jane can’t see myself sitting in bed with an i pad rather than a book and wonder weather it’d be waterproof enough to take by the pool??
    Good idea about your children’s story Mike, 4 classes could get to hear it now that Jane and Farzana are in the year 3/4 team – so exciting for them if your Charlie stories are anything to go by!

    • Mike says:

      Don’t worry about the water Joanne someone has thought about that. Apparently you can buy a waterproof cover for the iPad. This is what the manufacturers say about it:
      “The WaterGuard Waterproof Case guards against any wet environment that iPad might be exposed to. It is a perfect companion when when you use your iPad at the beach, near the pool side, in the bathtub or at the kitchen table. It provides great protection when you get stuck in a rainstorm or accidentally drop you bag on a wet surface. When using the WaterGuard case, the iPad can be slipped directly into the WaterGuard pocket and the transparent surface provides easy interaction with the keyboard and navigation interface.”
      So no excuses now! You can even read as you cook!

  4. Joanne says:

    Ha ha ha as I cook!! Funny that Mike, me being the domestic goddess that I am not! Knew there’d be an answer to the water problem though. It would certainly change the way I pick a book to read, what would the sequence be with a book for the i pad? At the moment my sequence is 1. Does the cover look good? 2. Does the title and the blurb make me want to read it? 3. Finally, I flick through the book to see if the font size and layout of pages is easy on the eye. I bet you can change the font of a book on the i pad, can’t you?
    Still not convinced I’d choose to read a book on the i pad yet, I like the time spent in a book shop too much!

    • Mike says:

      I’m with you on the bookshop front. I do enjoy wandering around bookshops – maybe the future will be various iPads at each section so that you can electronically flick through the pages.

Leave a Reply

