Slow Down

I’ve had a somewhat hectic day. This is unlike me as, since I retired a year ago, I have been diligently developing a new regime of ‘slow’. (I’m sure that colleagues that I worked with would say that was my philosophy before I retired!) As Bertrand Russell once said, “To be able to fill leisure intelligently is the last product of civilisation.”

This is a  picture of a holiday we had in New York and it reminded me of how important ‘taking things slowly’ is. This is a picture of a busy and hectic Times Square. Someone had the forethought to close off part of the street (7th Avenue, I think) and put out some garden chairs and loungers for people to use. What a great idea! There were a number of times when we were making our way back to the hotel after a busy day shopping or sightseeing when the sight of those chairs really lifted the spirits.

On one occasion when were were just sat there, doing nothing, an American couple (natives of New York) stopped and asked us what we, and all the other people, were waiting for? Obviously stopping and doing nothing was an unusual sight in the middle of New York as it would be in any large city.

About Mike

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slow Down

  1. julie b says:

    As you know our past few weeks have been anything but slow in our house, and having just been worn out by a hectic weekend in London where everything is so fast paced this post and photo, really appeal. I’d like to grab one of those deck chairs and have a long sit down! It also reminded me of our last trip to London a few years ago. In the Tate Modern’s turbine hall an artist had installed a huge golden sun which appeared to be set in a hazy wintery sky. The ceiling had been covered by a mirror. The whole effect was amazing and made people linger long enough to sit or even lie down. We joined them, it was an oasis of peace in an other busy “break”…..google “tate modern sun” to see images.

    • Mike says:

      Hi Julie. Ann & I visited the Tate & saw that huge golden sun. As you say it was fantastic and we also noticed how many people were just lying on the floor and enjoying the experience.

Leave a Reply

