What Random Thoughts Shall I Have Tomorrow?

I know that the title of this blog is ‘Random Thoughts’ but just recently my thoughts appear to have been less ‘random’ and more ‘non-existent’. I sat in front of my computer for over an hour yesterday trying to think of something to post – the more I tried the less I thought! I once read some advice about blogging that suggested you should create a schedule and have themes that you are going to blog about on specific days. This seemed wrong. ‘Random Thoughts’ seemed to me to imply a random approach, no structure, more about free thinking and a laissez-faire approach. I’ve changed my mind, or as Sigmund Freud said, “The best way to change your behaviour is to change your point of view.”

I’ve decided to give myself a challenge (albeit a fairly simple one!). I got the idea from a fellow blogger who set herself a 30 Day Challenge. Mine is going to be much less adventurous – a ‘Five Day Challenge’. Starting tomorrow, (always best, I think, to put off to tomorrow what you could start today!) I shall be posting the following:

  • Day 1 – Why Do We Bother With Birthdays?
  • Day 2 – What’s So Special About Saturdays?
  • Day 3 – Halloween Is A Scary Time Of Year!
  • Day 4 – Thank Goodness The School Holidays Are Over!
  • Day 5 – It’s Day 5 And I Can’t Think Of A Theme!

That’s the easy bit done. I’ve set myself a challenge with some very specific targets to aim for, but, just in case things don’t work out, I’d like to quote an English author called Ashleigh Brilliant who once said, “To be sure of hitting the target, shoot first, and then call whatever you hit the target.”

About Mike

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Life, Time and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What Random Thoughts Shall I Have Tomorrow?

  1. aquatom1968 says:

    Ah, now there’s an idea! ‘Blogger’s Block’ is awful!
    I like the target quote!

  2. me2 says:

    looking forward to them..
    & thank you for sending so many of your friends my way..
    & calling me a ‘blogger’. It feels weird to be called a blogger.
    hope you get over your ‘block’ soon!

    • Mike says:

      Funny how things change. Ten years ago the term ‘blogger’ probably didn’t exist. Now it describes a wide range of very different people, across the world, communicating with each other. I enjoy blogging and reading the thoughts of other bloggers.
      Thanks for your comments.

Leave a Reply

