Christmas Hangover

I usually find the time just after Christmas somewhat drab, as if something is missing. After all the hectic time getting ready for the great day and then the excitement of family, friends, presents and great food on Christmas Day, followed by more family, friends and food on Boxing Day, it then all seems to go quiet. I suppose we all need that period of calm to get back into routines, not least of all, eating less!

To be honest I’m quite enjoying it. The last of the family and other visitors have gone. The weather is dark and miserable so I’m not tempted to go out for a walk. The local shops, including the coffee shop I visit, are closed and those in the large shopping malls that are open I don’t want to go anywhere near at the moment. All this means that I have some quiet and peaceful time at home to write.

For some very strange reason I have found writing quite easy over the last few days, this is not something I am able to say very often. I haven’t quite worked out just why. It could be a number of reasons:

  1. I’ve had such a carefree and relaxed Christmas (with my wife doing all the cooking, present wrapping, card writing etc.) that my mind has had nothing else to think about, except the writing.
  2. The food I’ve eaten, or more precisely, overeaten, has a conducive effect on the creative process.
  3. All the wine that I’ve drunk  contained creative juices.

As a consequence I have completed the second chapter of what I grandly call ‘my book’ and what’s more I even have a vague idea as to what will happen in Chapter 3! Maybe the forthcoming New Year celebratory food and drink will keep the writing going. What I do after that I’m not to sure about.

About Mike

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.
This entry was posted in Modern Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Hangover

  1. penpusherpen says:

    ah the wine…’tis a heady brew?. … no wonder the creative juices are flowing đŸ˜‰
    Off to read the chapter, and glad you had a good Christmas, Mike, did one wash up at all?.. just asking!! sheeesh!!! xPenx

  2. Mike says:

    I vaguely remember washing up and listening to the football on Boxing Day!!

Leave a Reply

