What Did Santa Bring You?

Did you receive any strange presents this Christmas. When you get to my age you expect the new socks, slippers and wooly jumper. What I wasn’t expecting was a tin of ‘Zombie Fresh Mints’ – “Suffering from hideous halitosis after gorging on humans all night? Banish brain-breath with these amazingly strong mints.” or a jar of ‘Olde Fashioned Brain Jam’ – “Made from the finest brains, this preserve is an essential in every larder. Delicious spread thickly on just about anything, especially a severed limb.” Both were a present from my youngest son!

 

They come from ‘Hoxton Street Monster Supplies’ in London and are part of the amazing Ministry of Stories set up. A group of writers and volunteers have set up a shop in Hoxton where you can go in and buy a wide range of Monster Supplies – a quote from their website:

After extensive refurbishment, we now stock a pharmacopoeia of different types of fear, a complete range of edible human preserves and everyday household essentials like Fang Floss and Zombie Mints. So we invite clients old and new, living and dead to come and discover why we’ve been the store of choice for discerning monsters for over two hundred years, and will be the same forevermore.

Somewhere amongst the shelves of supplies is a magic door which children can go through and learn how to write about monsters. This is where the writers and volunteers have exciting classes encouraging youngsters to write. What a great idea! Have a look at this video.

PS. My youngest, Martin is one of the volunteers, he brought his older brother a jar of the ‘Thickest Human Snot’!!

About Mike

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What Did Santa Bring You?

  1. renxkyoko says:

    LOL ! I love that jar of ” Thickest Human Snot” !

    • Mike says:

      Thanks for dropping by.
      My son reliably informs me that the ‘Thickest Human Snot’ tastes great on toast!!
      I’m off now to have a peek at your blog.

  2. JennyD says:

    Oh my gosh! This was utterly delightful and SO informative, Mike! I watched the video and wondered why I had never heard of this before, and then I went to the link and was even more astounded. You’re right, this is the best idea ever. There were even stories to read over there and I’ll go back for sure (it’s already bookmarked). My, uh, special gift of the Christmas day was a coughed up hairball that found my foot as I was stepping down from the bed — not nearly so inventive and great as yours. Your sons are really good and that Martin is a pistol. Since he volunteers with them, it looks like he’s going to be following in his writer-father’s footsteps. Hallelujah, another one on the horizon 😀
    Wonderful post, Mike, wonderful. Happy New Year my new friend. I’m going to have a great time sitting in your pages 😉

    • Mike says:

      Glad you liked it Jenny.
      I’m in London mid January and hoping to visit & pick up some supplies. I will blog about it after my visit.
      Happy New Year to you.

  3. penpusherpen says:

    Wow, I wish there’d been somewhere like this when I was growing up, what a wonderful idea, and such a treat set in the type of way that will get children’s imaginations working overtime..and hopefully set them on the road to writing.
    I was intrigued that the idea came from a San Fransisco shop selling everything a pirate might need!! ah JD where are you?… 😉 not that I’m obsessed or anything, and of course it’s for children!! (behave Pen!!)
    Fantastic blog, Mike.. thanks for the links.. like Jenny I’m off to read a few stories… xPenx
    (Oh yes, wishing you and yours a wonderful New Year, may 2011 bring more story writing…!!)

  4. SethPopowich says:

    I have to tell you Mike, I have been given some far out/strange gifts as well. Exhibit A – My ex wife . All of my friends knew that she had a reputation for bad gifts, so they all urged her to get me something nice… something that I could actually use. So one Christmas, I came home to find a little box with a bow on it under the tree. I don’t know what made me think of perhaps she had gotten my a nice set of cufflinks… wishful thinking? I was so happy to finally get something nice. But when I opened the box, I found… drum-roll please… NOSE HAIR SCISSORS. 😦

    The next year at Christmas, the year she decided that we needed a trial seperation, I thought of my nose hair scissors (which by the way, I did not need!!!). I bought her a ‘thigh master’. 🙂

  5. SethPopowich says:

    There are often times when I’m exposed to an idea and instantly get one of those “Now why didn’t I think of that?” moments, and this is one of them. This is just as brilliant as it can be!
    I love writing (reading more so) and think this is a wonderful idea to get kids to enjoy and try all forms of writing and expression… exploring can only lead to genius being discovered and better books being written. Bravo!

    • Mike says:

      Glad you enjoyed the link Seth.
      Like you I often say to myself, “Why didn’t I think of that?” – though sometimes with me it’s not so much not having an idea but not always having the courage to move from idea to action.
      I therefore admire the people behind this project who are making it happen & many are doing it for free.

Leave a Reply

