Happy New Year

It’s that crazy time of the year again when lots of people will be thinking about their New Year Resolutions. We rarely stop and ponder the fact that many, if not all of them, will be the same as last year. It’s as if we have forgotten why they failed last year and the year before and the year before that. We always tell ourselves that this year is going to be different, but deep down we know that it wont.

Why do we make them? – One of the problems is that we get caught up in that New Year euphoria. All our friends are talking about their New Year resolutions and we don’t want to be left out. You know very well, despite what you might say, that you are not going to keep any of them. In fact you will be surprised if you manage to keep going until the end of January. But it doesn’t matter because that is part of the game that we all play. In some ways you almost want to be the first to fail, it will give you some bragging rights. You can almost imagine the conversation, “What you kept going for a whole day. Wow! I gave in after just 5 minutes.” (Beat that!)

What do we resolve to change? – Have you ever noticed that most people’s New Year resolutions are often about giving up the very things that they most enjoy. It’s as if they have to make the resolution as difficult as possible – nobody takes any notice of you if your resolutions are easy. The more difficult the ‘thing’ that we promise to give up the more sympathy we will get from friends when we fail.

  • Me – “I’m giving up chocolate for the New Year.”
  • Friend – “Never! But you love chocolate. You’ll never do it. I’ll give you a week.” (Have you noticed how your friend is helping to reinforce what you already know, ie “You’ll never do it” and then gives you a get out clause, “I’ll give you a week”)
  • Me – (A week later) – “You were right about the chocolate thing. I only managed 3 days before temptation got the better of me.”
  • Friend – “I told you so. I know you so well, that’s why we are such good friends. Do you want another chocolate muffin?”

Making promises is easy. – Dead easy in fact. Anybody can make promises, just look at politicians just before an election, they will promise you the earth. Unfortunately breaking promises is as easy as making them. Keeping them involves perseverance and commitment and that is hard work.

Resolutions I won’t be making. These are some that I’ve tried in the past and failed and if I made them again then I would only be setting myself to fail again.

  1. Start jogging every day – have you ever seen a happy jogger?
  2. Go to the gym every day – tried that one. The problem is that in the first week of January you feel quite at home. Everyone else is as unfit as you and doesn’t have a clue how any of the machines work. By the end of January most have given up and wishing they hadn’t signed up for a whole year. Those that are left are extremely fit, need to get a life and make you feel even more inadequate.
  3. Stop eating chocolate – not a good idea, the latest research suggests that chocolate helps fight off coughs and colds (or am I just making that up?)
  4. Cut down on the wine – would seem such a shame as there are still so many that you’ve never tried, and anyway, isn’t their some medical research that says drinking wine is good for you?

My New Year resolutions. – Well, to be honest, I’m not going to make any. Instead of making a list of promises that I’ve no intention of keeping I’m going to set myself some cosy, realistic targets instead. They are:

  1. Spend more time blogging – something I really enjoy (who says New Year resolutions have to be difficult?) and I am meeting some great people.
  2. Write more chapters to my book – notice I’ve not gone mad and said “Finish my book.” nor said how many chapters.
  3. Enter some short story competitions – ‘some’ may be one or it may be more.
  4. Visit the local coffee shop more often – another excuse to write.

Well, that’s me sorted for the New Year. I hope that you have a great 2011 and don’t resolve to do too much.

 

About Mike

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. penpusherpen says:

    I think you’ll be ok with your resolutions Mike, …though all four are ‘punishing’ I think you’ll find the courage and resolve… 😉
    I never make any, so I never break any!! I just try and do better every year…and if I fail…’tis not on record!! So, bye for now and see you in 2011…Happy New Year times to you and yours…xx

  2. Trevor says:

    Like you I’m making a resolution not to make any New Year resolutions , just a few personal goals that are achievable without too much pain.

    Happy New Year to you and yours

  3. aquatom1968 says:

    Happy New Year from me too! My resolution is actually an ongoing one from a few years ago – to keep my happiness levels up. I’ve dipped a couple of times but I’m determined not to break it! 😉

    • Mike says:

      Thanks for dropping by.
      I’m with you on the idea of keeping the happiness levels up.
      I share this quote with you:
      “Thousands of candles can be lighted from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared.” Buddha
      Have a wonderfully happy 2011

  4. JennyD says:

    Well, Mike, I’m so old that I’ve learned the best resolution to make is none at all, therefore, my mantra is, “I promise I will not make even one resolution”. I love it, I reach the goal every time. Am I a proud old lady or what 😉

    Now, I CAN tell you what I look forward to in 2011. Your blog(s). All 3 of them. I’ve become addicted in short order to the book and in fact going to read Chapt 3 tonight! I’ll bet you that Pen is doing the same thing. She and I get along famously and I knew you’d love her work, too.

    So here I sit, and trying to catch up on my blog walk (I HATE getting behind), and cook homemade soup downstairs, AND nurse this great tasting Seagram’s 7 with 7Up, and say to you, “HAPPY NEW YEAR, MIKE!” XXX

    • Mike says:

      Hi Jenny.
      Thanks for your comments – glad you are enjoying the blogs.
      I’m sure that sticking to your resolution about resolutions will ensure that you have a wonderful 2011.

  5. JennyD says:

    PS/ If I’d run out of Seagram’s, I’d be on the wine 😉

  6. mariya says:

    enjoy every seconds of these new year.

  7. SethPopowich says:

    I try to dump my baggage every so often, most often when I find that I am carrying a lot of it and that it is slowing me down. It just so happens this year, a lot of crap happened and I find myself starting over anyway. The New Year is something to look forward to, and gives me a little hope that things are going to get better. So this year, yeah, I’m going to make resolutions to set myself up for a better year. Starting with my first resolution… 1) I will eat healthier and give up certain foods, especially those that belong to my least favorite list.

    • SethPopowich says:

      Perfectly written! I think your resolutions are brilliant and good luck with them. You do realize that we will be monitoring you… checking back with you on a regular basis to see where you are at with them. All the more power to you!

  8. Pat . says:

    I don’t think I ever made any New Year resolutions. When I realize I need to set a goal or do something differently, I am not going to wait for the New Year to arrive before acting.
    But, good luck with yours – they appear very doable!

    • Mike says:

      I’m hoping that they will be both doable & fun.
      You are so right about not just waiting for the New Year to resolve to do something – we should be on the look out the whole time for new ideas and opportunities.

Leave a Reply

