A Lake View Story

I can’t believe that it’s 11 days since I last put a post on this blog! There have been a number of reasons which, on reflection, are really just excuses, so I won’t bother you with them. I’m presently in the Lake District. I have been here since Friday celebrating my wife’s birthday and I am staying up for the rest of the week as I have organised a residential conference for a group of primary Headteachers which starts tomorrow. We have some great speakers lined up who, I am hoping, are going to give me plenty of material for more blog posts this coming week.

I’ve got 24 hours to myself before the conference begins so I have decided to do some writing. As I sit in the hotel lounge with a stunning view over Lake Windermere I’m tempted to think that all I need to do is enjoy the calm and quietness, soak in the natural beauty in front of me and just let the words flow from my pen on to the paper (or even from my keyboard on to my iPad screen!) But we all know that it’s not that easy – no disruptions and an idyllic setting are great in themselves but no cast iron recipe for great writing. I’ve been sat here for an hour and can’t think of a thing to write, hence I am writing a post on my blog about not thinking about what to write – does that make any sense at all?

As a writer I try to make sure that I have always got one of my journals and a pen with me at all times. However that doesn’t always work. There have been a number of times when I’ve had a great thought while driving and by the time I have reached my destination and have time to write it down the idea has gone. Then I have some great ideas relaxing in the bath, again no pen and paper to hand. By the time I have had a good relaxing soak and a bit of a sleep, (the sort you have in the bath and then wake up because the water has gone cold,) I find that yet again the great idea has vanished. As for the pencil and pad by the side of the bed, I gave that up a long time ago. It’s not that the ideas don’t come in the middle of the night, they often do. But I find that by the time I have found my glasses, scrabbled around in the dark for the pencil and paper, turned a light on to see what I’m doing I have invariably woken a far from happy better half and realise that the safest thing to do is to apologise, turn off the light and hope that I can remember the great idea in the morning – I rarely do.

So back to my present situation. I’m looking out across Lake Windermere. The water is very calm and the odd boat or steamer that goes past is creating some wonderful ripples and patterns on the water. The sky is overcast and there is a mist settling on the lake which makes the two small islands in the middle of the lake look quite mysterious. There must surely be a story out there somewhere.

About Mike

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.
This entry was posted in Life, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Lake View Story

  1. JennyD says:

    I know just what you mean, Mike. I am completely blocked in the brain, too. Nonetheless, your photo is wonderful and it’s always good to hear from you whether there’s an essay or not. Shout out a Happy Birthday to your wife for me, ok? Tell her it’s from across the pond with many smiles.
    And hey, don’t you even think of forgetting to write more on my favorite story. I’m still waiting for Chapter 4 for heaven’s sake. 😀

    • Mike says:

      Hi Jenny.
      I’ve started Chapter 4 about three times so far – I’m hoping that the break away from it might have helped.
      I have just posted some more of the short twitter stories which I’ve become addicted to.
      Ann says thanks for the birthday wishes.

  2. penpusherpen says:

    I’ve bought myself a voice recorder, a small thing but large in saving my ideas which come to mind at the most inopportune moments…I:ve done three poems by saving the original ideas straight away…Wonderful invention… so this Pen might suggest you obtaining one. 😉
    Hope the writing goes well, and the conference too of course…and belated birthday wishes to your wife… all the best….xPenx

    • Mike says:

      Thanks Pen. I must try that. I will be able to use my new iPod Touch which I usually have with me.
      Conference going well so far. I will be posting some of the ideas shortly.

  3. SethPopowich says:

    Hey, just stopping by to give you a ‘shout out’ and say hello. Tomorrow is Wednesday, we’re half way thru the week. The weekend couldn’t come soon enough! Weekends don’t pay as well as weekdays but at least they are more fun!

    • SethPopowich says:

      My very best wishes to your wife on her special day. I hope you two were able to enjoy it together!

      • SethPopowich says:

        I love sitting down to write/type/blog. When I start a post I have no idea where I’m headed. I love that freedom, with no outlines and plans. No real strategies. Blog writing is like going off for a walk with no predetermined finish time or route, sometimes the walk is through the fields, sometimes along the streets. The typing, different from what I might write with a pen, the pen being much closer to the heart. The typing taps into some place in my brain. I think my best writing comes when I am not thinking. I’m just writing.
        I must say… I think your entry was right on the mark and many can relate.

      • Mike says:

        Thanks Seth. We had a great weekend. The Lake District is a very relaxing and beautiful place to spend time in.

    • Mike says:

      One of the joys of being retired is that every day seems like a weekend!

Leave a Reply

