A Very Short Story

Have you ever noticed that it is quite often the little things in life that can give us the most pleasure or excite us the most? Well, that is exactly what has just happened to me! Yesterday I came across a site that was publishing 140 character stories. The site is called ‘One Forty Fiction’ and as well as having a variety of different stories it also allows you to submit one of your own. They can be on any theme or match into a presently running theme, the one at the moment is ‘A week Of Finding Love’. So I decided to submit four different stories, two linked to the week’s theme. I received an email from the editor saying, “The current influx of submissions means that it sometimes takes up to a month for us to accept or reject a story….” So I decided to just sit back and wait. Imagine my surprise when I received another email today to say that one of my stories had been selected – “Your story, “Young Love” has been selected as “Today’s Story”” The site then welcomes other readers to critique the stories – I am looking forward to any comments. As I said to begin with it doesn’t always take a lot to cheer someone up!

Anyone who has looked on my short stories blog will know that I’ve become quite addicted to these. They are great fun and not as easy and straight forward as you might at first think. I love spending time thinking about and writing these very short stories. I then have almost as much fun re-drafting and trying to slim one down from 180 characters to the 140 or less. The real surge of excitement comes when I can get it down to exactly 140 characters.

I now consider myself to have been ‘Published’!! It may not seem like a lot to anyone else but it got me excited. Two quotes come to mind: “There is no one giant step that does it. It’s a lot of little steps.” (Peter A. Cohen) and “The elevator to success is out of order. You’ll have to use the stairs… one step at a time.” (Joe Girard)

About Mike

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Very Short Story

  1. SethPopowich says:

    CONGRATULATIONS. Are you really surprised that your story was chosen? I’m not. You certainly do have the creativity to put your words to sentences, these sentences into paragraphs, which all lead to great entries/stories. Plus, a writer needs three things, experience, observation, and imagination and you certainly have all three. I on the other hand, am not very good at writing, but I love to read.

  2. penpusherpen says:

    Like Seth, I’m not surprised either Mike, and I’m going to follow your links after I:ve posted this comment…..
    Thank you for your comment on my little Gargoyle story… his was ‘born’ this morning, on the wings of an idea which formed and cemented and now you’re read my mind, all in matter of hours, not bad for a little one eh? I just Love WordPress…. 😀
    ..xPenx

  3. aquatom1968 says:

    Congratulations on being selected, Mike! I’ll be sure to visit the site very soon!

Leave a Reply

