Had Any Good Ideas Lately?

Have you ever stopped to think about where your ideas come from? For some reason I seem to have hit a period where I’m doing quite a bit of writing and it got me wondering just where my ideas are coming from. Why are the ideas that I’m getting at the moment flowing  so readily when next week the well could suddenly dry up? In my case I think that there might be a few reasons which I will share with you:

  1. I seem, at last, to be getting into some sort of writing routine where I am doing some writing every day. I wonder, is this because of the routine or because I’ve so many ideas at the moment I needed to create a routine?
  2. The weather is picking up, so I’m getting out of the house more – either trips to the coffee shop or spending more time in my ‘Studio’ – both places that almost make me write.
  3. I’m more aware of the things that are the beginnings of themes or ideas. For example, yesterday I read a poem from a fellow blogger which immediately made me think of one of my 140 character stories, or I’ve just seen a book lying on a table indoors entitled ‘How To Kill Your Husband’ and immediately I thought of another 140 character story. (Incidentally I do need to ask my wife what prompted her to borrow that book from the library!)
  4. I found, quite by accident, an interesting site called ‘A Word With You Press’. Their February contest was intriguing and again I felt almost obliged to put pen to paper.
  5. Following a link for someone who had commented on a blog that I follow I found someone whose blog is full of some tremendous photos – Mystafied. After looking at his latest post with a great photo of a spider and its web I’m again wanting to write a short story.
  6. Feedback from people who read some of my stories is great for the ego but, more importantly, it makes you realise that you have an audience, someone to write for. To me writing is just another form of story-telling and all good stories need to be listened to.
  7. I’m actually using Twitter much more than I’ve ever done in the past. The main reason for this is again linked to the 140 character stories I am writing and it’s great to read the work of others. I’ve also come across hash tags like #amwriting and #amblogging – more sources of inspiration.

So that’s what’s working for me at the moment. What about you? Where do you get your ideas from? I would love to know, just in case my present sources run dry!

The photo is from Flickr – by David Restivo (Great isn’t it.)

About Mike

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.
This entry was posted in Self-Help, Short Stories, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Had Any Good Ideas Lately?

  1. penpusherpen says:

    Last mention first, the impression I get is of a ‘wooden thinker’ and it’s truly an amazing photo., … Ideas … I do wonder sometimes what ‘sparks’ them off…Interesting to read your list on things which have affected you and added to your ability to find story-lines…
    Personally, as I go through my strange convoluted days, sometimes working, sometimes housework, play with Bess etc….and during these times I find stray ideas forming, and I go with the flow… The latest just flipped into my mind with ‘hello I said in answer to the phone’ … and it took off from there, thankfully I had the recorder nearby and just breathed the words into it before they departed…(When I playback I do not recognise the person speaking though,… what a terrible voice she has I must say!!) …anyway beside the point…I suppose there must be outside influences and snatches of words and visuals which are stored in the back of the mind for future reference…and I can’t for the life of me say I have the answer to this personal holy grail, ‘cos if I knew maybe I could make a fortune? 😉
    great read Mike… xPenx

    • Mike says:

      Glad you enjoyed it Pen.
      We are bombarded with such a variety of different experiences, sensations, feelings etc. every minute of the day. The brain has got to have a way of filtering and sorting them all without us consciously being aware of just what’s happening which means that we all have a wealth of ideas stored subconsciously just waiting for the right moment for them to surface.
      I suppose we will never know just what triggers those ‘right moments’.

  2. Allow me to first state, that wooden form, is ‘Superb’, an air of mystery and depth.

    I won’t say I write well, but I think writing if anything only flows forth when the heart vibrates…and it flows forth without problems….
    Many a times it’s been music that sets free a new flow of feelings or thoughts which I try to capture…especially deep gothic, gregorian, characters like enya etc, Not all their music sets off feelings to viberate, certain kinds only…
    .
    instruments like flute, drums too set free viberations within…which bounces in deep deep expressions…within..

    LOL I dont know if this makes sense…
    Have a Great Day
    Cheers!
    DQ

    • Mike says:

      Hi DQ thanks for your comments.
      I wonder if there is such a thing as a ‘good writer’? To me if just one person reads anything I write and likes it then, at least to them, I’m a good writer. Fortunately those who don’t like it rarely tell me and the say that ignorance is bliss.
      Your comments have prompted me to listen to more music when I write, it is something that I rarely do. So I’m off to listen to Leonard Cohen – I wonder what sombre thoughts he will conjure up?

      • Oops so Sorry for the delay in response..
        I got lost in the transit I guess…
        Bliss is ignorance…errm now what was i saying

        I guess those feelings that i express are already within…deep music sets it free…I feel it crawling up and SpiLl, deeper the sound deeper the words…
        MMm leonard Coheon
        .
        I too wonder lol
        Sorry once again…
        Cheers
        DQ

  3. mystafied says:

    Hi Mike,
    I can relate to this as far as me being able to get the right photos that I have in my mind.
    Sometimes I feel very inspired and go out and photograph different things, animals or places and the results are too me…fantastic !
    On the other side of the coin…. I go out to take photos because I feel like I want to feel inspired or because I have to and the results are most often…horrible photos with no personality.

    I enjoyed reading this Mike,
    and good to meet you !

  4. Mike says:

    Likewise, good to meet you.
    Glad you enjoyed this post.
    It’s the same with writing -sometimes I can write a blog post or a short story, read it and think, ‘This is awful!’ at other times the words can just flow and I feel happy with the results.
    I think you are right – sometimes the harder we try to be inspired or creative the more false are the results.

  5. Greetings… Just wanted to let you know that I am still walking amongst many here on wordpress. You can find me now at http://iamchaosheadquarters.wordpress.com/ … uttering those fameous three words for now… … “I’LL.BE.BACK.” ……SETH

  6. I am no professional writer nor blogger. I write about things that happen to me on the job, stuff that happens to me throughout the day/week, friends, kids, EX wives (I so love writing about the ex wives, let’s me have the last word because they sure didn’t.) I blog to feed my soul. My space/page is a creative outlet for my ideas and a means of connecting with other like minded individuals. It is kind of like thinking out loud, when I sit at my keyboard… what ever pops into my mind at the time, is usually what I’ll write about.
    Lord knows I can’t write about my dreams, they have all been published in ‘Hustler’ and ‘Penthouse’. 🙂

    • Mike says:

      Such words of wisdom.
      You are so right in saying that a ‘blog feeds the mind’
      It is also a great way, as you say, of keeping in touch with like minded bloggers across the world.
      What did we do before our blogs?

  7. Joanne Reilly says:

    Mike, Im off to South Africa tomorrow and have spent a lot of time thinking about the journey I’m about to go on. A TA in work advised me to watch Michael Morpurgo’s lecture on BBC i player Richard Dimbleby to realise why I was going. Search it and have a look, it’s truly inspiring and gave me lots of ideas!!

  8. Jane says:

    Yes Mike! I have!
    For quite a while, I felt that my creative thinking side had deserted me – in work, concentrating so much on developing LKS2 meant that my brain seemed to have banned itself from being able to have my little moments of ‘inspirations’! Then, just after February half term, I had one…then another…then another! After having a conversation with Jo based on a book she was reading, or some research she was looking into, it seemed that my brain was now ready to cope again with the realms of creativity. I’d made space again because my competency had improved in one area, so my brain didn’t need to devote quite as much energy to that.
    ps. where does my best thinking take place? Walking, alone. Watching other people. Listening to conversations. What about you?

Leave a Reply

