Should Writers Twitter?

I have just read a great book called “Twitter Your Business’ by Mark Shaw. One of the many quotes from the book that really  hit home with me was, “Twitter is not a broadcast station. It is a communication tool.”  My problem, when I go on Twitter, is that I either use it to  write some ‘Twitter Fiction’ or to link to short stories I have posted on my Short Stories blog.

 I know that Twitter is a great way to share ideas and when I do go to my Twitter page I’m never disappointed by the people I follow, however I know that I’m still not using it as I should.  I’m hoping that ideas I’ve picked up from Mark’s book will make my future Twitter experiences more worthwhile.

As an aspiring writer I feel that I’m missing out in some way by not making better use of Twitter. At the same time I personally get annoyed with people who merely use it to try to sell their books. Surely there must be more to it than that?

Back in July 2010 a lady called Ivy Bean died at the age of 104 years. Apparently Ivy was the oldest ‘Tweeter’ in the UK with over 56,000 followers – impressive. She was also an avid Facebook user with over 5,000 followers. She first accessed the internet in 2007 via a computer given to the care home she was in by social services. When Ivy was born in 1906 it would still have been another 7 years before the first national telephone network was established.

Marc Prensky talks about ‘Digital Natives’& ‘Digital Immigrants’   –

Today’s students represent the first generations to grow up with this new technology. They have spent their entire lives surrounded by and using  computers, video games, digital music players, video cams, cell phones, and all the other toys and tools of the digital age.

But Digital Immigrants typically have very little appreciation for these new skills that the Natives have acquired and perfected through years of interaction and practice. These skills are almost totally foreign to the Immigrants, who themselves learned – and so choose to teach – slowly, step-by-step, one thing at a time, individually, and above all, seriously.

Where does that put Ivy? A  digital immigrant keen to embrace the world of her younger digital natives ……. and me, someone who prides himself on using technology …. in terms of ‘Twitter’ I’m still a Digital Immigrant.

About Mike

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.
This entry was posted in Modern Life, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Should Writers Twitter?

  1. Evelyn says:

    I love the terms “digital native” and “digital immigrant”…

  2. Mike says:

    Thanks for popping by Evelyn.
    I strive to be a bit of a digital native but I’m afraid I will always be a digital immigrant.

Leave a Reply

